The Funk Is Broken

I’m reading again – enthusiastically! Hooray! I checked out two library books last week: SOURLAND by prolific author Joyce Carol Oates and TO FETCH A THIEF by Spencer Quinn. The first is a collection of short stories; the second is the third in a mystery series narrated by a dog named Chet…

Oates had me pondering her writing more than her content, which wasn’t particularly uplifting or meant to be for that matter. I read seven of her sixteen stories about the power of violence, loss, and grief before realizing that her extraordinary gift and skill were being wasted on my unreceptive mind. She certainly deserves a better listener than I am capable of being right now. However, I will return to her award-winning prose when I feel more open and contemplative.

sourland

Then, last night, I gave Spencer Quinn a shot and, zap, he hit my funny spot right off the bat! Thank you, Mr. Quinn(chetthedog), I needed that!…Chet and his owner, Bernie, are partners in the Little Detective Agency, and Chet’s view of life, living, and detecting is expertly doggified. Thanks to Chet, I now understand why dogs do what they do, which has widened my heart for them.

dog on itthereby hangs a tail

to fetch a thiefthe dog who knew too mucha fistful of collars

I have yet to read A FISTFUL OF COLLARS, which came out last year, and I’m already looking forward to reading this year’s September release of THE SOUND AND THE FURRY. I’m afraid Spencer Quinn has streaked ahead of Janet Evanovich’s ability to delightfully amuse me and gone directly to unfunking my reader’s block…Thanks to all for your suggestions.

[As I wrote this little update, the sun came out and blued up the sky, which is always a joy to see. Plus, it’s Friday!]

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Writer's Help and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

