OH MY GOSH!!!

Holy cow, people! I cannot believe that I put the same paragraph in consecutive posts. I checked out my paragraphs folder and found that Friday’s was missing. So I viewed my blog and saw that Friday’s paragraph was the same as Saturday’s. How on earth could that have happened? I flushed red, even though I was alone, and hastily repaired the faux pas. I can only hope that the new paragraph will flush out any remnants of my mistake…

Don’t you hate being imperfect? (sighhhhhh) I thought I had gotten over trying to be perfect, but nooooo that idiotic notion is still within my psyche. It stems from being abandoned by my birth-father as a child. His rejection of little me drove teenage, then adult me to constantly strive for perfection so that he would return and love me again. [Frankly, I’m glad he didn’t. I’m very glad a good man married my mother and adopted me and my sisters.] Geez, the things that parents do and/or don’t do, say and/or don’t say that can affect their children years later in various ways. No wonder we’re all dysfunctional to a certain degree. No wonder we sometimes don’t know which way is up or which way to turn.

Reality: Mistakes are the norm in life. They cannot all be avoided, though some of us try to plan far ahead to avoid making any. On the other hand, what’s so bad about them anyway? They show our humanity. In fact, we have to make mistakes in order to get the important things as right as possible. We have to be hurt so we can become strong. We have to accept the bad in order to recognize the good. We…

I’ll stop rambling now. I’m almost over my boo-boo. I turned it into this chagrined post and didn’t shed a tear of shame. I must be growing up. 🙂

mistake

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Writer's Help and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to OH MY GOSH!!!

  1. dezz101 says:

    Holy tirade batman. Take it easy on yourself I noticed the repeat but assumed I’d misread it. calm yourself, go have a drink (ANYTHING BUT COFFEE!) haha

  2. mskatykins says:

    Don’t be so hard on yourself! 🙂 Making errors (and learning from them) is one of the most valuable pastimes! 😉

Leave a Reply

