Late Post

100_1398I apologize for being late with today’s posting. All I needed was the Word of the Day, but I could take no more time over it and had to leave…

Overnight the temperature dropped into the low 40s (hooray) and my son does not drive. He usually walks his daughters (4 and 2) to/from their half-day pre-school three mornings a week and once a week to/from the library for storytime. I help out, if my daughter-in-law is not available, on cold or rainy days, like today, by driving them to or picking them up. They live in another town about sixteen miles away.

This morning, after dropping the girls off, Jud and I had breakfast at a little restaurant on his town’s square. He had never been there before and neither had many other people, judging by its emptiness and torn seating. It was one of those places where you walk up to a counter, place an order from an overhead menu with plastic letters stuck into slots, pay, and then take a seat. We ordered breakfast tacos. The upper half of the walls had been painted maroon on one side and orange on another side; the lower half had faux paneling. There were a few large, amateur paintings on the walls and one stooped elderly man sitting by the kitchen, who told them the phone was ringing.

Jud and I commenced talking, first about Christmas wishes and then about football. Time passed pleasantly, but after a while I had to mention that it was taking a long time for three simple tacos. He shrugged, obviously enjoying our time together, so we discussed possible Super Bowl contenders and the changes being made, and not being made,  to the NFL (National Football League). Eventually, we received our food and it was pretty good. The tortillas were newly made, as were the eggs, potatoes, and bacon (on Jud’s). That’s why it took so long; nothing had been precooked and set under heat lights, which was a plus. However, my fork did not taste clean and smelled of some other food than what I had ordered. I set it aside and resumed eating with my hands, then bit on something that shouldn’t have been there. Hmmm. It was one of those now-we-know experiences.

After leaving a tip, I took Jud home, gave him a hug, and and went shopping for presents that need to be mailed off today – hopefully…So, that is the reason for my tardy posting.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Writer's Help and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Late Post

  1. mskatykins says:

    Oh gosh! That is pretty gross, at least that’s how my mum described it when I read it to her! I love your descriptions of the restaurant, it was seeming so hopeful with the fresh cooking. I shall not ask what you bit on that shouldn’t have been there… lol!

Leave a Reply

