Goof

Oh dear, did you notice my goof? I misposted, got my days wrong. That’s what I get after being up most of the night. My eyes would not stop itching, despite a couple antihistamines and an eyewash. It felt like having a hundred mosquito bites on each eyelid. I gritted my teeth against the urge to rub and scratch, which usually results in grossly swollen, reddened skin.

After reading until 2:00 a.m., I finally left the bed to update my journal, draft some posts, and play rigged solitaire. Not rigged exactly, but a computer can come up with myriad combinations, while a human can shuffle a deck of real cards only so much. Computerized solitaire frequently presents three or four of the same number at the start, which seldom happens at a card table, unless you’re lucky at poker. Or the cards are all red or all black. The monotony of solitaire usually puts me to sleep, but not last night/this morning.

At 4:30 a.m., I went back to bed with a cold compress on my aching eyes and dozed for a couple hours before getting up to publish today’s post. Whalah! I goofed. Excuse me while I go rest my brain some more…

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Writer's Help and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

