Friday Notions #82

The purpose of this blog is to help writers with their work, to be museful or perhaps instrumental in unclogging thoughts. To this end, I am providing a daily question, beginning sentence, beginning paragraph, prompt, and word-of-the-day to stimulate your “little gray cells.”

Question: If you can still climb trees, do you?

Sentence: Roaring fires in the four man-tall hearths could not warm Branoff Hall.

Paragraph: Miranda Randall’s first day on the job had not gone well. As soon as she walked into the disgusting trailer, she swiftly turned around and released her breakfast over the rickety railing outside. She could not think of any words to describe the filth and its smell; it was beyond her ken. Wiping her mouth, she forced herself to continue, turning around and briefly wondering if she had been given this case as a joke. There was no clean place to sit or empty space to set down her notepad for the interview with the lazy tub of lard – one Elsa Reese – who was taking up the entire ripped and rank sofa and who had yelled at her visitor that the door was open. As she stood unstably, just a foot into the room, Miranda tried to focus on the questions at hand rather than on the debris covering the floor. However, her weakened composure completely collapsed, when huge roaches crossed over her feet, and she fled, leaving behind a loud belch and a baby’s small cry.

Prompt: Use your ten favorite words in a sentence.

Word of the Day: pregnable adj. 1. capable of being taken by force.  2. open to rebuttal. (RANDOM HOUSE WEBSTER’S COLLEGE DICTIONARY, 1991)

If your work needs a title, tweaking, or critiquing, please do not hesitate to ask. Cyranette is here for you.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Writer's Help and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Friday Notions #82

  1. mskatykins says:

    I would like to climb trees more regularly. The same with most other things in life, I worry that I’m going to break it so I don’t get on it/climb it! Maybe I should just give it a go! 🙂

    • Cyranette says:

      Depends on the tree, the circumference of the branches, and how high you want to go. As for other things: nothing ventured, nothing gained; and life is all about experiences. 🙂

Leave a Reply

