Word Quest

Of this daily blog’s five parts, the one that takes the most time is the last: Word of the Day. It requires searching. I probably go about it all wrong, but I look through one of my dictionaries for a word I do not recognize. What has amazed me is how many words I do recognize. If after five minutes I cannot find a new or unusual word, I open a thesaurus. I’m aware there are Internet word sites, but I prefer perusing paper pages. So color me dinosaur green.

Most of the words I still don’t know are names – proper nouns and  animal/plant/insect species. While these are interesting, they are irrelevant to WBB. Also, since I took a medical transcription course a couple years ago, I can now easily eliminate medical terms – diseases, bacteria, drugs, anatomy, physiology, etc. – as they usually aren’t used in general fiction. Occasionally I’ll find an eye-catching weird word only to discover that it is Archaic or Rare or Obs., which is a bummer. They seem like such cool words but would only apply to historical fiction. (This stirs me to start a list of them for a later post.)

Finally, there are Dial. or Colloq. words, as well as non-English ones, which further restrict my hunt due to their localized nature. Therefore, instead of tens of thousands of words I only have a probable choice of a thousand or two to offer for everyday writing. Since, to date, I have presented over five hundred daily words, this particular aspect of WBB may prove the most finite. However, be assured, dear readers, I shall not cease my word quest, though my eyes redden and my little gray cells beg for mercy.

P.S. If you would like for me to introduce an archaic, rare, or obsolete word now and then, please let me know.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Writer's Help and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Word Quest

  1. mskatykins says:

    Please do provide us with rare/archaic words – those are really interesting and might inspire some people to try writing in a different way/genre. 🙂 Great to have this insight, Cyranette! 🙂

Leave a Reply

