Tuesday Tips #77

The purpose of this blog is to help writers with their work, to be museful or perhaps instrumental in unclogging thoughts. To this end, I am providing a daily question, beginning sentence, beginning paragraph, prompt, and word-of-the-day to stimulate your “little gray cells.”

Question: Don’t you just hate misplacing things?

Sentence: Marcy fancied herself all grown up.

Paragraph: It’s not that I don’t like being outside…Well, actually, yes it is. Out there are all sorts of things I cannot abide – people, animals, insects, germs. I do like trees, however. I like looking out my windows at their greenness, even though having fallen from one put me in this wheelchair.

Prompt: Describe something you have successfully overcome.

Word of the Day: homunculous 1 : a little man : MANIKIN  2 : a minature adult that in the theory  of preformation is held to inhabit the germ cell and to produce a mature individual merely by an increase in size (Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, Eleventh Edition, 2011)

If your work needs a title, tweaking, or critiquing, please do not hesitate to ask. Cyranette is here for you.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Writer's Help and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tuesday Tips #77

  1. mskatykins says:

    Great post today, as always! 🙂 I walked across the bridge that overlooks that big dam in Arizona – can’t remember its name. That was a big deal to me as dams/reservoirs really freak me out!

    • Cyranette says:

      It was the Hoover Dam, the construction of which was extremely interesting and amazing. We have an earthen dam near us at Canyon Lake. It’s cool to walk across and not anywhere near as high as the Hoover…How do you cross the water between your islands?

      • mskatykins says:

        I checked it out, it was Glen Canyon Dam. We were verry fortunate to take a plane ride through Monument Valley and so we flew over it as well. I just feel really intimidated by them… The tour was breath taking, utterly so! 🙂

        Well, when I cross from Stornoway to the Mainland we cross the North Atlantic aka The Minch which is almost a 3 hour long journey. It can be rather rough – I don’t like it. This time we drove down (very early morning) through Lewis to the Isle of Harris – funnily enough is just one landmass – and we sailed from Tarbert to Uig on the Isle of Skye. That crossing is far more sheltered and is only 2 hours. Then it’s an hour drive down to the Skye Bridge which takes us to the mainland. Then we have another long drive – maybe 4 hours, possibly 5. Still, that way makes for fabulous scenery. You should add Scotland to your list of places to visit, we have some really stunning landscapes. 🙂

  2. Cyranette says:

    Glen Canyon Dam/Lake Powell is near Utah border, while Hoover Dam/Lake Mead is near Nevada border and the Grand Canyon. Arizona is a very interesting state with all its canyons and deserts. We usually drive through its southern part from Texas to California. I’ve flown over both lakes/dams, but only driven to Hoover Dam. I much prefer mountains full of evergreen trees.

    Holy cow! That’s quite a journey you take. We would love to visit Scotland. One of Danny’s sisters has a house in Craig, but is going to be selling it soon and we have yet to see it. We both love beautiful places and can’t wait to visit the British Isles and Europe. He’s a builder and very much wants to study the cathedrals and castles.

    I have been to Germany and Austria and loved the scenery, history, and architecture there. I know that if I can get him across the Atlantic, he’ll not want to leave. 🙂

    We took a 90-minute ferry ride from Vancouver, BC to Vancouver Island a few years ago and loved it. We were with some of my family and played dominoes on the ferry, too. We stayed for a couple days in Victoria and visited the gorgeous Butchart Gardens, had high tea at the Empress Hotel, and learned all about old sayings, like “Throwing out the baby with the bath water.” …Awww, I love history. 🙂

Leave a Reply

