Questions

Questions are a very important part of writing, as well as life. One of the first words toddlers repeat ad nauseam is “why,” which can be quite annoying. However, we should never stop questioning. That is how we learn and advance in life. Curiosity causes questioning, which leads to a search, which gains us answers and thus knowledge. Hopefully. 🙂

When a person stops questioning what he sees and hears, his/her mind can atrophy in place, becoming unopen to new thoughts, ideas, and experiences. In my opinion, there are few things worse than narrow-mindedness: when a person buries his/her head in the sands of someone else’s uncompromising thoughts/words/rhetoric, having lost the ability or desire to think on their own. Creative writers, artists, and musicians never stop questioning, even if they don’t find answers or like the answers they encounter, and by doing so continue to explore the world around them. This is a very good thing.

Question everything about life and make note of what you find. With each new discovery or revelation you will be able to enrich your writing, giving it more depth and perception. Question yourself and stay curious. How well do you know your neighbors? What kind of stories are behind thrift store donations? When was the last time your curiosity was piqued?

My daily WBB offerings are meant to provoke and evoke, to get the reader’s mind going and jumpstart the questioning process. Questions don’t lead just to answers, they lead to other questions. But you already knew that, didn’t you?

[Thank you, teaandtantalisingtales, for inspiring me to write this post.]

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Writer's Help and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Questions

  1. mskatykins says:

    Great, great post, Cyranette! I’m so glad to have inspired you as well! You are absolutely right! I have a really inquisitive mind and I try to encourage that in the students I meet. 🙂 I do hope you don’t mind if I reblog this. 🙂

  2. mskatykins says:

    Reblogged this on beforeiforget and commented:
    Wow, I inspired somebody today! I do hope you’ll check this out, it’s a great blog by Cyranette. 🙂

  3. Pete Armetta says:

    I can’t learn unless I ask questions. Do you mind? haha j/k It’s always been a thing with me, the Socratic method of learning no doubt. I never did well at lectures where the audience is silent. I learn by asking and engaging and that makes me grow. Nice one I appreciated reading this today no doubt. 🙂

Leave a Reply

