Thursday Thoughts #70

The purpose of this blog is to help writers with their work, to be museful or perhaps instrumental in unclogging thoughts. To this end, I am providing a daily question, beginning sentence, beginning paragraph, prompt, and word-of-the-day to stimulate your “little gray cells.”

Question: Is the end of your current goal in sight?

Sentence: One bright Sunday, after a twenty-year absence, Bunny Moncreiss went to church.

Paragraph: On flat, bare feet Melville shuffled down the middle of Pole Creek Road, looking for fresh roadkill. Not that it would be too fresh this late in the day. His belly had been growling for some squirrel or ‘possum, but, since he’d been at it for several hours and nobody’d driven by him either way, he figured he was shoot outta luck. Hearing a rumbling behind him, Melville turned around and saw some dust blowing up a ways back. Some fool got no bidness goin’ that fast on this ol’ road. He stepped off into the dry cornfield on his right, until he recognized what was coming. Then, at the last minute, he raced across the road into the woods as fast as his scrawny legs would take him.

Prompt: Explain a time when you did not come to someone’s rescue.

Word of the Day: featly – adv 1 : in a graceful manner : NIMBLY  2 : in a suitable manner : PROPERLY  3 : with skill and ingenuity – adj : GRACEFUL, NEAT (Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, Eleventh Edition, 2011)

If your work needs a title, tweaking, or critiquing, please do not hesitate to ask. Cyranette is here for you.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 8. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 26 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Writer's Help and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment