Screw the Corporeal Universe

After decades of believing in my writing, a couple weeks ago, I had a negative epiphany: What’s the point? I took it even further: What’s the point of any creative stuff – stories, novels, poetry, music, movies, plays, painting, sculpting, woodworking, glass blowing, pottery, dreaming, etc.? Why do we need this stuff to get through life and/or to escape reality? Why are we filled with the need to release what is inside of us for all the world to see? For several hours the funk had its way and made an empty shell of me…

In the deepest, darkest recesses of her mind she found the hatred, resentment, frustration, disappointment, and utter fatigue binding together and seeping into every cell like a self-made horror film. Once there, the microscopic, blackened entities squirmed to be free of any brightness remaining, striking out to gain space or resorting to cannibalism to be alone. But in doing so they risked the possibility of destroying themselves, for they were meant to be as one, functioning together. In the temporary lapse of unity, her body shivered and shook, waking her senses until she was whole once again. Life was good. She just had to look at the photos of her babies, see the blooms outside her window, and touch the shoulder of the man she loved. Screw the universe! – it was not going to keep her down. She had a right to be here, a right to be herself…

What we do, what fills our minds and souls is important. Our thoughts and feelings inhabit us for a reason – to create.   In creating we evoke, entertain, transform, anger, endear, transport, enlighten, amuse, frighten, amaze, or inspire. We should not allow the corporeal world to stifle or depress us. (What the fuck does IT know?) On the other hand, some afflictions and ordeals can bring out the best in us. Life is worth living, even the bad parts. With torment comes restoration, inner growth, resilience, and insight – hopefully – with which we can bring depth and understanding to our creations.

It saddens, angers, and confuses me when creative people kill themselves. I’m sorry they felt hopeless and unable to free themselves from their internal agony any other way. I’m mad because in doing so they have made a selfish decision. But most of all, it is difficult for me to comprehend why talented people are not fulfilled by or content with their special gift and the success and admiration it brings.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Writer's Help and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Screw the Corporeal Universe

  1. mskatykins says:

    I think that creativity is important because it reminds us of what we are able to express/create without relying on speech. It reminds us of what is beautiful in the world around us. I love it all. Even when I encounter something that makes me think, ‘What is the point?’ as you have highlighted…

    I love your posts. I know I don’t often make comments, but I always check them out and I especially like your daily questions. They really make me think. Thank you, Cyranette. 🙂

Leave a Reply

