Wednesday Wits #67

The purpose of this blog is to help writers with their work, to be museful or perhaps instrumental in unclogging thoughts. To this end, I am providing a daily question, beginning sentence, beginning paragraph, prompt, and word-of-the-day to stimulate your “little gray cells.”

Question: How much resilience do you have?

Sentence: One Sunday Henry Abbott returned to church, albeit in a pine box.

Paragraph: Mrs. Winter primly walked against the traffic, as was her wont. Not that there was much traffic to be concerned about on Downey Lane. However, Mrs. Winter, a woman of many cliches, preferred to be safe than sorry. Though her beady eyes recognized every vehicle and driver, she did not acknowledge any with a wave or a nod, appearing instead to be staring intently ahead. When her chest felt the sonic thumping of blaring music before Delmont’s red roadster came around the bend, she pushed into the Hathaways’ lavender bushes and stood stockstill in anticipation.

Prompt: Name your biggest pet peeve.

Word of the Day: nescient adj. 1 lacking knowledge; ignorant  2 AGNOSTIC (WEBSTER’S NEW WORLD COLLEGE DICTIONARY, 3rd ed., 1996)

If your work needs a title, tweaking, or critiquing, please do not hesitate to ask. Cyranette is here for you.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Writer's Help and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wednesday Wits #67

  1. rogerdcolby says:

    How much resilience do I have? It is an old, rusty, Confederate ironclad sitting at the bottom of a river, unyielding to time or the force of the river rolling over it.

    Biggest Pet Peeve: People who pull out in front of me on the highway, then drive slowly to the very next turn just down the way.

    • Cyranette says:

      Wonderful analogy, Roger. I feel sorry for people to whom nothing tragic has happened or for whom nothing has gone wrong. They don’t know their inner strength and the longer it goes untested, the harder they fall when it is. Children have the most resilience of any adult; they take birth defects, illness, and injury in stride. They don’t know they can’t get back up after being knocked down…I don’t understand why those drivers refuse to pull in behind me for their exits either. Or why they cut me off to exit at the last second.

Leave a Reply

