Friday Notions #17

The purpose of this blog is to help writers with their work, to be museful or perhaps instrumental in unclogging thoughts. To this end, I am providing a daily question, beginning sentence, beginning paragraph, prompt, and word-of-the-day to stimulate your “little gray cells.”

Question: Are you a hawk or a dove?

Sentence: Adrian Hendricks first day of third grade did not go very well.

Paragraph: Our eight-month-old Keely had fallen asleep on the way to the restaurant, so she remained buckled in her carseat, perched atop the table. Bill, Jacob, and I were looking over the menus, when all of a sudden shouting voices came down the aisle and past us to someone having a birthday. The overly loud noises woke Keely with a start, and she began to shake, her eyes wide with total fear and incomprehension. Her reaction reminded me of a photo I had seen of a shell-shocked, shaking little Japanese girl after the atom bomb had dropped. I could not unstrap and calm my baby fast enough, but my comfort seemed so inadequate for the terror Keely had experienced at being so outrageouly awakened.

Prompt: Pretend you are a firefly, minding your own business, signaling to your peers and family. Suddenly, you find yourself trapped. You can see outside the container but cannot get out. Describe your entrapment.

Word of the Day: karst – n. an area of limestone terrane characterized by sinks, ravines, and underground streams (RANDOM HOUSE WEBSTER’S COLLEGE DICTIONARY, 1991)

If your work needs a title, tweaking, or critiquing, please do not hesitate to ask. Cyranette is here for you.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Writer's Help and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

