Possible Plagiarism

This morning I received the following comment on one of my posts, alerting me to the fact that someone had copied and pasted it to their website and was trying to solicit membership fees:

“I would like to inform you that the following post has been explicitly copied from your blog onto another site, potentially without your consent and/or knowledge: Saturday Ideas #15.

The offending url is: http://schoolofcreativewriting.com/?author=388

It is believed that the author of this site is attempting to gain monetarily from stealing others’ work and posting it along with false Gravatar information.”

I immediately went to this offending website and found my post, although it was in one garbled paragraph. The author did indeed solicit membership fees; however, articles were free. On the other hand, it is definitely rude of this person to have used my post in this way without letting me know or linking back to my blog. While it may not be true plagiarism, it comes close.

Perhaps this offending author is unaware of ethics violations or rules of conduct? I have no way of knowing, since I could not comment on this person’s blog. The “comment” button on my post had been turned off.

I have no problem with writers using my sentences or paragraphs to create their own stories or manuscripts. Indeed, that is why I began Help from Cyranette. However, I feel this particular author was not right in republicizing my entire post for some unforeseen end.

I would appreciate any and all comments on this matter. If anyone knows to whom I should report this, please let me know. Thank you…Cyranette

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Writer's Help and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

